Check the value for “Failed Login Attempts Before Lockout” under Setup > Properties > Access/Permissions.  The option to unlock a user will appear to only if this value is set to something under other than zero (zero would mean unlimited login attempts; therefore, no user could ever be locked out).


Click here to go to the Knowledge Center for the full article.