The My Projects button serves 2 main purposes:

  1. To self-assign
    Allowing users to assign themselves to projects is a setting on the Project Profile, and can vary by project. Typically, the right side of the My Projects page will only show the projects the user is assigned to. However, when the self-assign box has been checked, all projects that allow self assignments will appear in the 'Available Projects' panel on the left (see screenshot below). The user can then move the available project from the left hand panel, to the 'Selected Projects/Tasks' box and it will now appear in their drop down menu in the actual timesheet.

  2. To remove projects you do not use often and minimize the data in your drop down selection.
    Depending on the data volumes and the project settings in your system, each user may have many project/tasks available. To avoid presenting too much data in the drop down, a user can move unused or rarely used projects from the right hand 'Available Projects' panel (1) to the left, by using the arrows in the center (2) (see screenshot below). Two things to note here are that: removing a project does not unassign a user (unless self assign is beings used) and two, if a user is finding that a project does not appear as an option in their time sheet drop down, this is likely the culprit.


Click here to go to the Knowledge Center for the full article.